New Revision of ISO 13485 Released


ISO 13485, Quality Management System Requirements, has been revised.  The new standard, ISO 13485:2016 has been published.


Businesses that are currently registered to ISO 13485:2003 that wish to maintain certification have to make the transition.



Where can I purchase the latest version of the standard?
How long will ISO 13485:2003 be recognized?


During the next three years, ISO 13485:2003 and ISO 13485:2016 will coexist, allowing companies time to transition to the new standard.

Companies will still be able to be accredited for either ISO 13485:2003 or ISO 13485:2016 for the first two years of the transition period; however, after the second year, new accreditation will only be given for ISO 13485:2016.

After the three year transition, all certified companies must comply with ISO 13485:2016. 

What are the differences between ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 13485:2003?

The revised standard maintains the same structure as the 2003 version of the standard.


WCH has provided a video at the top of this page that provides additional information about the new revision.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

AS9100 - IATF 16949 - ISO 9001 - ISO 13485 - ISO 14001 - ISO 45001

Blueprint Reading, cGMP, Core Tools, QA Inspector, Statistical Process Control,

Supplier Audits, Internal Audits

Copyright 2020 - WCH Professional Services, LLC   



Business Management Consulting