New Revision of ISO 14001 Released



ISO 14001, Environmental Management Systems Requirements, has been revised.  The new standard ISO 14001:2015 has been published.


Businesses that are currently registered to ISO 14001:2004 that wish to maintain certification have to make the transition.


Where can I purchase the latest version of the standard?
How long will ISO 14001:2004 be recognized?


The ISO 14001:2004 standard will be accepted until the end of the three year transition period.


That said, Registration auditors will only issue ISO 14001:2004 certificates to newly established Environmental Management Systems for one year after ISO 14001:2015 is released.


Surveillance audits for companies that have already been certified to ISO 14001:2004 will be audited to the 2008 version of the standard during the three year transition period.


After the three year transition, all certified companies must comply with ISO 14001:2015.


What the differences between ISO 14001:2015 and ISO 14001:2004?
  • Increased prominence of environmental management within the organization's strategic planning processes

  • Greater focus on leadership

  • Addition of proactive initiatives to protect the environment from harm and degradation, such as sustainable resource use and climate change mitigation

  • Improving environmental performance added

  • Lifecycle thinking when considering environmental aspects

  • Addition of a communications strategy


WCH has provided a video at the top of this page that provides additional information about the new revision.



Business Management Consulting

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

AS9100 - IATF 16949 - ISO 9001 - ISO 13485 - ISO 14001 - ISO 17025 - ISO 27001 - ISO 45001

Blueprint Reading, cGMP, Core Tools, QA Inspector, Statistical Process Control, Supplier Audits

Copyright 2020 - WCH Professional Services, LLC